Dr. Fogg & Sir Daniel presents..

Respecting The Enemy

In Daniels articles on January 14, 2012 at 2:21 am

Every person who takes the oath to defend their country and wears the uniform all deserve our undying gratitude.   Their job is to run into the most dangerous areas of the world and attempt to bring order to chaos..  This is why this story this week, of four United States soldiers from the 3rd Battalion, 2nd Marines who urinated on the dead bodies of dead Taliban fighters is so upsetting.   When they wear the uniform, they represent every soldier in that uniform, every citizen back home and sadly, themselves..   Every good action those guys took up till now in their careers will be forgotten..

Army Lt. Gen. Curtis M. Scaparrotti, commander of the International Security Assistance Force Joint Command, wrote “Defiling, desecrating, mocking, photographing or filming for personal use insurgent dead constitutes a grave breach of the LOAC (laws of armed conflict), violate basic standards of human decency and can cause serious damage to relations with the Afghan government…”

I was listening to a popular talk show host today and he commented that while he doesn’t think they should have done it, he understands why they did it..  and.. in a way I guess I understand, I understand why people burst into banks with guns and rob them but I would never do it myself.

This talk show host is under the impression that these Marines should never be publicly identified, instead they should be allowed to quietly retire (with pay) and blend back into civilian life..  My only problem with that is if we never identify them, then the message we send the world is it was a Marine, could have been your son or brother, who disrespected another culture so much they urinated on them after they were dead.

This talk show host went on and on about how these dead fighters were Islamic and deserved to be urinated on..  He said the way their religion treats women, the fact they chop off heads..  these guys are barbarians!   The fact a couple Marines showed disrespect on them is trivial..

He doesn’t know squat about Islam,  however, I found out neither does the majority of us..  I myself had bought into the stories about how bad women were treated once myself but it stopped when one of my friends, who is Islamic, told me that not all Islamic men treat women that way.  She said that if it were true, then the women would leave such abuse.   She pointed many other religions have women who stay in abusive relationships, they are treated much worse than she is..   I couldn’t argue with her, she loved her husband and her religion.

This talk show host also had a caller say “this is the reason America is hated by so many other counties”..   Do you know what he said to this caller?  Nothing, he hung up on him. Claiming he was “Anti-patriotic”..  But the caller has a point..  America is known as a bully..  and it’s not our Military but our leadership (over the years) that has given us this reputation.

I would also like to point out just how upset WE would be if a video had surfaced showing four Taliban fighters urinating on dead American soldiers?  Wouldn’t we want blood?

How should they have behaved?  I found one person who wrote these wise words to the soldiers..  “I commend you for the conditions that you live in while you are overseas defending our right to sleep under the stars. Please take a minute and talk to the man or woman beside you about what is right and wrong in your situation. Only advice from someone in the very same situation makes sense when you you are dodging bullets and IED’s on a daily basis. May God bless each and every one of you and bring you home to your family safely and to a public that you put your life on the line to defend to give them the right of “FREE SPEECH”, many of whom would hang you out to dry if they got the chance. REMEMBER, there are those of us who put our kids to bed every night and teach them to pray for you while you are dodging death to keep us safe”

I have family and friends in the Military, and I couldn’t be more proud of them.   But I hate that these four men took it on themselves to do something so un-American.   There are many who say that “I hate the fact that someone filmed it worse” but I believe that is like saying “I’m not sorry I did it, I’m only sorry I got caught!”

All those in uniform, please stay safe..  remember you are a part of our family and we want you home. Don’t let the actions of a few make you think what they did was okay..   and above all else, wear your uniform proud because you represent a country who is proud of you.

~ Daniel

Leave a Reply

