Dr. Fogg & Sir Daniel presents..

A Rose By Any Other Name

In Daniels articles on August 14, 2010 at 4:23 pm


Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet, 1600:

JULIET:
      ‘Tis but thy name that is my enemy;
      Thou art thyself, though not a Montague.
      What’s Montague? it is nor hand, nor foot,
      Nor arm, nor face, nor any other part
      Belonging to a man. O, be some other name!
      What’s in a name? that which we call a rose
      By any other name would smell as sweet;
What is in a name?  It seems alot..

 Someone can judge what they think we might be like if they have never met us by just reading our name.  

Here are a few recent facts..
Top 10 Names for 2009

    Rank—–Male name—–Female name
  
     1………..Jacob……….Isabella
     2………..Ethan………..Emma
     3……….Michael………Olivia
     4……….Alexander…….Sophia
     5………..William………Ava
     6…………Joshua……..Emily
     7…………Daniel…….Madison
     8…………Jayden…….Abigail
     9………….Noah………Chloe
    10…………Anthony……..Mia

 
 
I’m a bit surprised to see my name on the list although I have to say I have my name because my parents named me after my Dads cousin.. they never checked any list..  Yet it’s been one I’ve lived with and learned to accept as I’ve gotten older..

however when I was young..  I hated “Daniel” with a passion and the boys on the school bus knew it so they would make sure to taunt me with it.   One poor kid however didn’t notice that once I joined band I carried a drum case with me on the bus and I’m ashamed to say I showed it to him head first one day and he needed stitches but he, or anyone else, never bothered trying to upset me by calling me Daniel after that day.. 

yes.. I will admit it here and never again.  My name is not Daniel, but Danny..  Ironic, now that I’m much older..  I hate the name Danny as much as I hated Daniel when I was young.. (Fair warning.. anyone who runs the song “Danny Boy” by me will NOT make it to the chorus)so it seems I lived one life as Danny and the next (and current) as Daniel.  I am sure this is normal for Bobs (Robert), Bill (William) and many other names.. 

right Foggy?

But back to the topic.. 
 
Some parents give their children “strong” names like “Brick””Canyon” or “Fortney”, some choose “hippy” names like “Summer” “Cherish” or “Peace”, some choose names like “Kenyatta” or “Shiethia” just to be different..

then you have the religious..  babies named “John” or “Mary” or “Christian”..  and then there are many who are in my boat..  named after a relative or someone famous in the family..

now I want you to meet this guy..

 

  When this poor kid was three years old, his Mother tried to order a birthday cake for him from the local supermarket with his full name on it..  They refused to make it..  His parents were upset and complained to the paper but by far the majority of people took the supermarkets side of the issue..  They DID get their cake made at a Walmart, but the Walmart got so much press over the issue that they have decided they needed to “review their rules for cake decorating..”  This poor kid didn’t do anything wrong.. it was his parents who named him Adolf Hitler Cambell.

 The Campbells’ other two children also have unusual names: JoyceLynn Aryan Nation Campbell turns 2 in a few months and Honszlynn Hinler Jeannie Campbell will be 1 in April.  Their parents have no idea why people would hold anything against a child just because of his name “It’s not like hes going to grow up and do what Hitler did” his Mom is quoted as saying..

Hopefully that is true..  but still.. 

Hitler was a monster people, he is NOT someone to name your children after!  People lost their families to the Nazi movement, and I don’t mean lost by they misplaced them..  they were murdered!!

This poor little 3 year old boy has NO clue what a shameful life he is being forced into.  At his age, our parents are suspose too be the ones who teach us right from wrong!!   They are suspose too be our example.

These people are NOT good parents.  and it’s only fitting that this week the law has stepped in and taken the child out of their home.   Although the reasons are secretive (rumor is abuse) according to court records, both parents are unemployed and both suffer from unspecified physical and psychological disabilities.

“Tis but thy name that is my enemy”

So yes.. as Shakespeare wrote.. “That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet..” but some names are not roses and will forever hurt any future mankind has of living in peace.

Something to think about..

~ Daniel

Leave a Reply

