Dr. Fogg & Sir Daniel presents..

Archive for August 14th, 2010|Daily archive page

Oh Danny Boy.

In Dr. Fogg's poetry on August 14, 2010 at 10:46 pm

Please whisper this.

I’d like to tell you about my dog,
a Jack Russell brown and white.
He’s got a brave heart and that’s for sure
for such a little mite,

But he’s got a little problem,
so I’m whispering this to you.
Because he’s got huge ears!
and we don’t know what to do.

He’s still a little puppy,
and might grow into them.
But it really seems unlikely,
yet he’s such a little gem.

[image]

It’s not so much the size,
but the fact that they stick up.
If he hears me telling you,
he’ll be one disgusted pup.

Danny is his name you see,
I’m afraid we worry so.
That people in the place we live,
might name the pup Dumbo.

Some people with kind hearts,
have collected locally.
To send our Dan to the USA,
for an “Earanotomy”.

Dr Fogg.©

Hubble Bubble And What?

In Dr. Fogg's poetry on August 14, 2010 at 10:36 pm

“Hubble bubble toil and….
Oh I forget what’s next.”
The old witch is pushed away.
The high priestess most vexed.

“Trouble” the priestess bellows.
The old witch mutters “ I’m 500 years old
And what with Alzheimer’s, the rain,
and this appalling cold.”

“Silence” the priestess barks, “ ill do it!”
“ Is he in heaven or in Hell?”
“No No” the assembled coven shout
“ That’s the pimpernel.”

“Well!” the Priestess shouts,
“Does anyone remember.”?
“By the time we get this done.”
We’ll find it is November!”

Her familiar cat falls of his chair.
Clutching sides in laughter.
The priestesses withering stare.
Bodes ill, for his fish meal after.

“Can we go now” whines one participant.
“Friends is on TV.”
The priestess slumps dejected.
“GO, it’s all the same to me.”

Dr Fogg©

Beware The Expert.

In Dr. Fogg's poetry on August 14, 2010 at 9:12 pm

 

The world is full of people,
who tell us what to do.
Who tell us what is best for us,
But I just say screw you.

Hydrogenated fat is good,
Butter makes you ill.
Too much salt will finish you,
Fatty food will kill.

Eating meat is dangerous,
Smoking clogs the veins.
Cream is just a no no,
drink will fry your brain.

But give em just a few more years,
And they will change their view.
Research has shown bla bla bla bla,
But I just say screw you.

Take this global warming,
I don’t give a cuss.
If it gets a little warmer,
I’m not going to fuss.

 I don’t want to grow old,
All wrinkly and wet.
So fatty food and salt and booze,
I’ll take all I can get.

 __________

                          Dr Fogg©

Halfway To Heaven

In Sir Daniels poetry on August 14, 2010 at 6:02 pm

H A L F W A Y
T O
H E A V E N

In her dreams she is always with him
Though he has been gone 20 years tomorrow
Her eyes used to sparkle, now they are dim
She drinks each day from a glass of sorrow

She tried to move on but everywhere she turns
She sees people from her life before
If only they knew just how she yearns
To be with her love once more

She never got a chance to say goodbye
That day back in nineteen-eighty seven
She got to the hospital just in time to see him die
He was already half-way to heaven

Year by year has come and gone
She passes her time alone
She keeps no friends, no desire to move on
She never answers her phone

But she went to the library early yesterday
It was something rarely seen
She almost walked by, but something made her stay
And read the computer screen

 

 

 

Someone had left it in a chat-room
And there written for her to see
What must be a joke, she had to assume
For there was no way this could be

My darling Lila, it’s cold outside
But we will be together before tomorrow’s dawn
I wiped your tears when you would cry
Answer me back, Little John

She sat down in the chair and began to type
Without even trying again to understand
A tear would form, but she felt them wiped
As if by an invisible hand

“Ooh John, I’ve missed you so very much
I’ve thought about you every day since then
I cringe at the thought of a strangers touch
I just need to feel you again”

After a moment there appeared
A message like the one before
My darling Lila, what most I’ve feared
Is that you would love me no more

But instead what has happened has broken my heart
When I see the way that you’ve withdrawn
But soon, my love, we no more be apart
Together forever, Little John

What did he mean with what he said?
For a moment her mind drew a blank
Then she remembered he was twenty years dead
And that this was all someones awful prank

“I don’t know who you are or how you know me
Or why you’ve said the things you have said
But I’m leaving now, so if you will excuse me
My Little John’s has been twenty years dead”

The screen went blank, she sat in the chair
Behind the computer booth in the back
When it was closing time they discovered her there
Dead of a heart attack

And there on the screen flashing still
Was a message for someone to stumble upon
My darling Lila, just be still
I’m holding your hand, Little John –

(c) 2007

A Rose By Any Other Name

In Daniels articles on August 14, 2010 at 4:23 pm


Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet, 1600:

JULIET:
      ‘Tis but thy name that is my enemy;
      Thou art thyself, though not a Montague.
      What’s Montague? it is nor hand, nor foot,
      Nor arm, nor face, nor any other part
      Belonging to a man. O, be some other name!
      What’s in a name? that which we call a rose
      By any other name would smell as sweet;
What is in a name?  It seems alot..

 Someone can judge what they think we might be like if they have never met us by just reading our name.  

Here are a few recent facts..
Top 10 Names for 2009

    Rank—–Male name—–Female name
  
     1………..Jacob……….Isabella
     2………..Ethan………..Emma
     3……….Michael………Olivia
     4……….Alexander…….Sophia
     5………..William………Ava
     6…………Joshua……..Emily
     7…………Daniel…….Madison
     8…………Jayden…….Abigail
     9………….Noah………Chloe
    10…………Anthony……..Mia

 
 
I’m a bit surprised to see my name on the list although I have to say I have my name because my parents named me after my Dads cousin.. they never checked any list..  Yet it’s been one I’ve lived with and learned to accept as I’ve gotten older..

however when I was young..  I hated “Daniel” with a passion and the boys on the school bus knew it so they would make sure to taunt me with it.   One poor kid however didn’t notice that once I joined band I carried a drum case with me on the bus and I’m ashamed to say I showed it to him head first one day and he needed stitches but he, or anyone else, never bothered trying to upset me by calling me Daniel after that day.. 

yes.. I will admit it here and never again.  My name is not Daniel, but Danny..  Ironic, now that I’m much older..  I hate the name Danny as much as I hated Daniel when I was young.. (Fair warning.. anyone who runs the song “Danny Boy” by me will NOT make it to the chorus)so it seems I lived one life as Danny and the next (and current) as Daniel.  I am sure this is normal for Bobs (Robert), Bill (William) and many other names.. 

right Foggy?

But back to the topic.. 
 
Some parents give their children “strong” names like “Brick””Canyon” or “Fortney”, some choose “hippy” names like “Summer” “Cherish” or “Peace”, some choose names like “Kenyatta” or “Shiethia” just to be different..

then you have the religious..  babies named “John” or “Mary” or “Christian”..  and then there are many who are in my boat..  named after a relative or someone famous in the family..

now I want you to meet this guy..

 

  When this poor kid was three years old, his Mother tried to order a birthday cake for him from the local supermarket with his full name on it..  They refused to make it..  His parents were upset and complained to the paper but by far the majority of people took the supermarkets side of the issue..  They DID get their cake made at a Walmart, but the Walmart got so much press over the issue that they have decided they needed to “review their rules for cake decorating..”  This poor kid didn’t do anything wrong.. it was his parents who named him Adolf Hitler Cambell.

 The Campbells’ other two children also have unusual names: JoyceLynn Aryan Nation Campbell turns 2 in a few months and Honszlynn Hinler Jeannie Campbell will be 1 in April.  Their parents have no idea why people would hold anything against a child just because of his name “It’s not like hes going to grow up and do what Hitler did” his Mom is quoted as saying..

Hopefully that is true..  but still.. 

Hitler was a monster people, he is NOT someone to name your children after!  People lost their families to the Nazi movement, and I don’t mean lost by they misplaced them..  they were murdered!!

This poor little 3 year old boy has NO clue what a shameful life he is being forced into.  At his age, our parents are suspose too be the ones who teach us right from wrong!!   They are suspose too be our example.

These people are NOT good parents.  and it’s only fitting that this week the law has stepped in and taken the child out of their home.   Although the reasons are secretive (rumor is abuse) according to court records, both parents are unemployed and both suffer from unspecified physical and psychological disabilities.

“Tis but thy name that is my enemy”

So yes.. as Shakespeare wrote.. “That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet..” but some names are not roses and will forever hurt any future mankind has of living in peace.

Something to think about..

~ Daniel

Rock&ROll Story

In Sir Daniels poetry on August 14, 2010 at 2:35 pm

R O C K
n
R O L L
S T O R Y

 

When Johnny was 10, he got his first guitar
After making a wish on a shooting star
He was lost in the magic of what it could do
He practiced it daily, his dreams grew

When he was sixteen, he formed a band
He wrote his own music, hoped it would be in demand
He tried to get people’s attention but it all seemed in vein
Till he caught the eye of a girl named Mary Jane

Johnny was still dreaming of bigger crowds
He sang his songs, he was lost in the clouds
Mary Jane would always go to his shows
And watch him play from the first couple rows

Although his playing wasn’t that great
Mary Jane said yes when Johnny asked for a date
As they strolled down the beach under moon lit skies
There was love in Mary Jane’s eyes

But Johnny only had his guitar on his mind
To Mary Jane’s love he seemed to be blind
As they got to the ramp where they had parked their cars
Mary Jane looked up and saw shooting stars

“Let’s make a wish”, she said,  Johnny said “sure
I hope by this time next year I’m on a world tour
I want to be playing to a much bigger crowd”
Mary Jane didn’t say her wish out loud

After that night Johnny found success
Mary Jane saw him less and less
His band was noticed, it seemed un real
When they were signed to a record deal

The audiences became larger, the tours far away
People everywhere wanted to hear Johnny play
That night under the stars became to Johnny a distant thought
One that Mary Jane never quite forgot

Johnny missed graduation because he was on tour
Living a life only a rock and roll star could endure
Sex, drugs, rock and roll, all the girls he could want
From California, Texas, Illinois and Vermont

Mary Jane became a teacher, Kindergarten and Head-Start
She never married for she held Johnny in her heart
Her friends worried about her, for she was so sad
One tried fixing her up on a date with her brother, Brad

But Mary Jane would smile and say, “don’t worry about  me”
The only time she cried was when she saw Johnny on tv
He would wind up in the news after yet another drug binge
The look in his eyes made Mary Jane cringe

Then one day driving home from work
Mary Jane’s car started to jerk
She blew a tire, her gas petal got stuck
She spun right into the path of a truck

The impact was fierce, her car went flying
She laid by the side of the road, dieing
She was rushed to the hospital barely alive
The doctors said they didn’t think she would survive

Meanwhile clear on the other coast
A sober Johnny was wondering what he missed most
He was tired of the drugs and the Hollywood scene
He checked himself into rehab, he was six months clean

He thought about his hometown, he wanted to be near
He called his parents for the first time in a year
His Mom was happy to  hear from him, he felt the same
When his Mom said, “You know, Johnny, it sure is a shame..

What happened to Mary Jane, according to the news report
The only thing keeping her alive right now is life support”
Johnny dropped the phone like he had been stabbed with a knife
He realized right then Mary Jane was the thing missing from his life

He had spent all those years searching for fortune and fame
He had missed her love completely, he was to blame
He bought a ticket on the next flight home
He sat by himself, he felt all alone

After his plane landed, he bought a rental car
He started thinking about the night that they wished on a star
He looked out the sunroof, the sky was empty
Except for one little star that he could barely see

“God if your there”, he prayed, “I screwed up real big
I turned down a life of happiness for a bigger gig
Now the one that I love may not survive
Please God, I beg you, keep her alive”

Johnny arrived at the hospital after visiting hours
On his lips was his prayer, in his hand he brought flowers
The nurse stopped him at the desk, but Johnny was stronger
“You can’t go in there,” she said, “That lady won’t last much longer”

But Johnny ignored the nurse and opened the door
He didn’t care what anyone said, no, not anymore
Mary Jane was lying on the bed with an IV in her arm
In the back of his mind, Johnny could hear an alarm

Her face was badly bruised, her eye swollen shut
Her leg was in a cast, her arm badly cut
Yet to see her again, Johnny felt such bliss
He reached over the hospital bed and he gave her a kiss

The monitor behind her started to stall
Outside there was commotion in the hall
He only had a minute, he had to make it worthwhile
When Mary Jane opened one eye, he saw her faintly smile

“I knew you would come” she said, struggling for speech
“That was my wish that night on the beach”
“Mary Jane, I’m sorry”, Johnny managed to say
“I was a fool, I should have never went away

But I’m here to stay, Mary Jane, I will never leave you”
“It’s too late Johnny”, she said, “but I love you too”
At that moment the door opened and three guards rushed in
They grabbed ahold of Johnny, but that was the moment when..

..Mary Jane flat lined, her body went into shock
As they dragged Johnny out, the nurse called for a Doc
When Johnny saw what was happening, he put up a fight
But it was all for nothing, Mary Jane died later that night

They buried her in a simple grave, on her tombstone a falling star
Johnny visits her every night and brings his guitar
He avoids the spotlight, Mary Jane’s death tore him apart
He only plays the blues now, and he plays it from his heart..

 

(c)’08